Testimonials: Shoulder - Rotator Cuff Repair

Norman Baer – Shoulder Bursa Sac Ablation and Rotator Cuff Repair Surgery

I have been suffering with shoulder problems for over 25 years. I started seeing Dr. Martin Coleman in November 2016 for an enlarged Bursa Sac. I did not want surgery, so we went through all the options, from shots to physical therapy. All helped temporally and I was good with that.

Eventually, my Rotator Cuff tore and we had no other option than surgery. I had Bursa Sac Ablation and Rotator Cuff repair surgery in January of 2019. The results of the ablation were immediate. I have no more pain in my Bursa and no more circulation problems in my arm. I am still working through the Rotator Cuff Repair rehab, but it is going great. I didn’t even need physical therapy.

Dr. Coleman is tough and demanding, but he always has your best interest at heart. If you follow his directions, the results are phenomenal. I give Dr. Coleman a 10 out of 10 and would recommend him to anyone.

About the photo – This isn’t really a hobby. We bought a house last summer and the yard was a wreck. Because of my shoulder issues, I have not been able to do anything about it till now. So I’m very happy that now I can get my yard looking better.

Norman Baer

Betty Forrest – Rotator Cuff Repair Surgery and Physical Therapy

Image of Dr. Boyd Haynes

In February 2018, I fell and injured my right shoulder. I could not raise my arm more than a few inches. I visited Dr. Boyd Haynes who confirmed that I had a “massive” rotator cuff tear and that surgery was the only option. I’ve since learned that “massive” is the worst possible tear that he will try to repair. I have complete confidence in Dr. Haynes, so 2 weeks later I underwent the rotator cuff surgery and spent the next 6 weeks in a sling/immobilizer waiting to heal enough to begin physical therapy. During this time, I did exactly what Dr. Haynes told me and after several weeks of physical therapy, I have use of my right arm again.

For anyone facing this type of surgery, it is important to follow instructions and stick with the Physical Therapy, even though it is not always easy. Many thanks to Dr. Haynes and Dr. Tom Toothaker, Fred, and Josh in the Physical Therapy department for everything!

Betty Forrest

David Deeley – Rotator Cuff Surgery and Physical Therapy

Dr. Boyd Haynes finally made me realize surgery was the only way I would get full use of my right arm again. I had a significant tear in my rotator cuff, and it was very painful to use my arm.

After surgery, four weeks out of work, following doctor’s orders, and Physical Therapy, I am well on my way to full use of my arm!

Dr. Haynes and his entire team (OSC Physical Therapy) are above and beyond!!… compassionate and encouraging! LIFE IS GOOD!… again!

David Deeley

Teresa Sullivan – Rotator Cuff Surgery

My name is Teresa Sullivan. I went to see Dr. Coleman back in October 2017 because my right shoulder hurt just about every time I reached behind me and when I did ordinary things, like buckle my seat belt or get dressed in the morning. The pain wasn’t awful, but consistent.I really liked how Dr. Coleman provided options for treatment and didn’t just “jump to surgery”. After reviewing the X-ray he had ordered, he recommended an injection (can’t recall the medication, but maybe cortisone) and told me that this would most likely provide relief if the cause is inflammation / arthritis. We scheduled a follow up visit for 2 weeks. Well, unfortunately for me, the injection provided no relief whatsoever, so he ordered an MRI to determine more precisely the cause.

He reviewed the MRI with me at my next visit and again, we discussed options. For me, there were really only two ~ Surgery now or down the road. The cause of my pain was due to bone spurs that were tearing the tissue in and around my rotator cuff. He was very thorough in explaining how my decision would impact my day to day living. I decided to move forward with the surgery, which was done mid-December.

Surgery was out patient and I went home from the hospital same day. Dr. Coleman’s follow-up appointments with me were informative and he was very straightforward about the things I needed to do in order to get well. I followed his instructions as thoroughly as possible and am delighted that his advice has proven to be the best. I was discharged from his care mid-March 2018, and of course, he said to reach out to him if I needed.

The recovery process he recommends for his patients is sound and simply outstanding. His bed-side manner is professional and I found him to be a very knowledgeable and caring physician. I would recommend Dr. Martin Coleman to anyone with similar physical needs

Robert Sullivan – Complex Shoulder Surgery

On July 4, 2017, I fell off a ladder and hurt my shoulder. I guess a 60 year old should have been a little more careful. As a veteran, I was driven to the Hampton VA Medical Center by my wife. When they confirmed there were no breaks, they scheduled me to see their orthopedic doctor in the first week in August and have an MRI conducted. It was here that the VA doctor said the damage was so severe that they did not have the expertise to repair my shoulder and did I have any civilian doctors I would like to see. I had heard many great things about Dr. Martin Coleman at OSC,  so I gave the VA his name. They told me that he would have to agree to take a VA patient. Within two hours, I received a call back that not only would Doctor Coleman agree to take me on as a patient, but I was scheduled to see him the next day.

After meeting Dr. Coleman and reviewing my MRI, I was scheduled for surgery to repair a completely torn rotator cuff, dislodged bicep/tricep muscles, and tendons that had completely rolled back.

After the surgery, Dr. Coleman told me the damage to my shoulder was so extensive and the repair so intricate, that he did not want me to even attempt any physical therapy for at least 90 days. He gave me a mobility exercise program that he wanted me to implement diligently. Perhaps the greatest post-surgery factor is that I had absolutely zero pain after the surgery. I did not even have the need for aspirin.

I am happy to say that today has been 90 days since the surgery and Dr. Coleman has given me a completely clean bill of health and to go back to my normal routines with a sense of care not to overdo anything.

I am so happy with Dr Coleman and the entire OSC staff. I can feel myself getting stronger and more mobile every day.

Robert Sullivan

John Johnson – Lumbar Fusion Surgery for Spinal Stenosis

I am currently a very healthy and still somewhat athletic seventy-two year old male. All my life, from high school until today, I have been physically active in some kind of sport or work out type exercising. In the past I have played football, wrestling, baseball, and long distance running. I have been a utility lineman, which requires extreme lower and upper body strength to climb poles. I was, before spinal issues, and currently am, a barbell strength lifter, which basically entails progressively lifting heavy weights at low (4-6) repetitions.

In 1993, I initially developed left side sciatica that manifested itself as pain and tingling down my left leg. The time period of several years immediately preceding this sciatica issue, I was doing a lot of long distance running, prepping for some half-marathons. This episode led to a surgery to repair a herniated L4-L5 disk, and all was well after that, but my long distance running, at my choice, pretty much ended. I then took up lifting weights off and on until today.

I began serious barbell strength training in 2015, which is very late for a man my age, but doable if the lifts are done correctly. Weight lifting is inherently unsafe, but lots of fun for those of us that choose to do it. I was also doing some short jogging runs along with that, although I shouldn’t have combined the two, simply because there is not enough muscular stress recovery time between the two activities. Some things you learn the hard way.

In the spring of 2016, I had shoulder surgery by Dr. Martin Coleman at OSC, due to an injury as a result of heavy bench pressing. Dr. Coleman gave me Percocet-oral for post-op pain, but I didn’t need it. I followed his post-op physical instructions and I healed very quickly, as far as normal shoulder use. It was a several months before I could lift heavy weights again using my shoulder. A year later and my shoulder is lifting heavy weights again. I was very happy with Dr. Coleman and the entire OSC staff.

While recuperating from the shoulder surgery, I was not lifting at all, so I started doing variable distance wind sprints from 10 yards up to 100 yards for cardiovascular training. This worked very well as far as great weight control and cardio endurance. A couple of months after shoulder surgery, I was back to heavy lifting (lower body only) again, except for presses that involved my shoulder. I was beginning to notice my glute area muscles were chronically burning, not during, but after my workouts. I thought that it was from doing heavy barbell squats requiring a quick push back and up from the hips coming up out of the bottom of the squat. Or, I wondered, if it was because of the wind sprints causing chronic glute inflammation. This went on for many months, I just dealt with it, and I then began feeling sciatica symptoms again.

By then, and because of Dr. Coleman, I was sold on the OSC doctors and I had decided to go see Dr. Jeffrey Carlson, since this was a lower body spinal issue. I had also started taking 1000 mg of Tylenol alternating every six hours with 1000mg of Ibuprofen for the pain. This worked pretty well, but I knew I couldn’t do that long term. I also had to find a comfortable sleeping position.

I knew as soon as I spoke to Dr. Carlson that he had my best lifestyle, physical and emotional health interests at heart. Dr. Carlson ordered x-rays of my lumbar area the first visit. They looked bad enough, and the subsequent MRI looked horrible to me. I had lumbar spinal stenosis in at least four different places and I don’t know how I was even walking, much less lifting heavy weights. It’s amazing what the human body can do even when it is broken down. Dr. Carlson was honest and to the point – we could try pain management or surgery. The surgery would require a complete lumbar L2-S1 fusion, and he was very encouraging that if I followed his instructions completely that I would heal properly and would be able to resume everything, including heavy weight lifting, that I wanted to do. I told him that I did not want to just manage the pain, I wanted my lower back fixed. I agreed to the surgery, which was done on 27 March 2017.

Before the surgery, Dr. Carlson and I established a post-op pain level management plan. I rated a pain tolerance level between 0-10 that I felt that I could tolerate. The surgery was extensive, I stayed one night at the hospital with a self administered pain IV, and went home the next day. Before he discharged me, he was going to give me percocet to take home, but I told him that didn’t work well for me based upon past experience. He asked me how the IV was working and I told him very well. He prescribed the same as the IV medication, except oral pill form. It worked extremely well, plus I slept well at night.

After the surgery, I immediately noticed that I no longer had any pain and tingling in my legs and feet. The only source of pain was in the area of the incision which was about eleven inches, covering my entire lumbar spine area. After about two weeks, the pain was to a level that I no longer needed any pain medication at all. At less than three weeks, I was driving again.

I also went to OSC Physical Therapy for three weeks and Dr. Amanda Jetty and her PT assistants are excellent as well. As of today’s date, 28 June 2017, I have already been back in the gym for several weeks and back to lifting fairly heavy weights again and steadily progressing in my strength. My life is back to normal and completely pain free.

As a result of my experiences with Dr. Coleman, Dr. Carlson and the entire OSC staff, I will continue to use their services for all of my spine and orthopedic issues and will recommend them to anyone seeking care within the entire realm of their services. Everyone, including the non-medical staff, which works in that practice has your best, pain-free health as their goal. I already have recommended Dr. Coleman and Dr. Carlson to several people whom I think could benefit from their medical expertise and services.

John Johnson

John Johnson – Shoulder Surgery

I am currently a very healthy and still somewhat athletic seventy-two year old male. All my life, from high school until today, I have been physically active in some kind of sport or work out type exercising. In the past I have played football, wrestling, baseball, and long distance running. I have been a utility lineman which requires extreme lower and upper body strength to climb poles. I was, before spinal issues, and currently am a barbell strength lifter which basically entails progressively lifting heavy weights at low (4-6) repetitions.

I began serious barbell strength training in 2015 which is very late for a man my age, but doable if the lifts are done correctly. Weight lifting is inherently unsafe, but lots of fun for those of us that choose to do it. I was also doing some short jogging runs along with that, although I shouldn’t have combined the two simply because there is not enough muscular stress recovery time between the two activities. Some things you learn the hard way.

In the spring of 2016, I had shoulder surgery by Dr. Martin Coleman at OSC due to an injury as a result of heavy bench pressing. Dr. Coleman gave me Percocet-oral for post-op pain, but I didn’t need it. I followed his post-op physical instructions and I healed very quickly as far as normal shoulder use. It was a several months before I could lift heavy again using my shoulder. A year later and my shoulder is lifting heavy again. I was very happy with Dr. Coleman and the entire OSC staff.

As a result of my experiences with Dr. Coleman, Dr. Carlson and the entire OSC staff, I will continue to use their services for all of my spine and orthopedic issues and will recommend them to anyone seeking care within the entire realm of their services. Everyone, including the non-medical staff, which works in that practice has your best pain free health as their goal. I already have recommended Dr. Coleman and Dr. Carlson to several people who I think could benefit from their medical expertise and services.

John Johnson

Elizabeth Pendleton – Rotator Cuff Surgery

I have nothing but good to say about OSC, I see 3 doctors there and they all are amazing! However, today I am going to tell you about my rotator cuff surgery and Dr. Martin Coleman.

I went for an exam in early February. I was in a lot of pain. He took one look at me and scheduled my surgery for February 17. I went to surgery, dreading the next few months of recovery, as I had heard horror stories from a few people and I was nervous. Apparently, I had completely blown my shoulder out, which made me more apprehensive, but I had to get it fixed.

The surgery went off without a hitch! I had a nerve block that kept my arm feeling like something that belonged to someone else, but it only lasted 1 1/2- 2 days. The first few days, I took pain medicine and slept in a recliner, as I was kinda out of it. I went for a check up after a week. Doing okay.  Dr. Coleman and I had a talk, he said “do exactly what I tell you and it will get well in 3 months”.  I said “yes, that’s my job and I will follow your instructions to the letter”.

It seems from our conversation that many say that, but few follow through with it.  I did…he said arm lifts twice a day for 10 minutes and I set a timer to make sure I did enough. After the first month, I went to my appointment and he said “Great, you get an A+. Keep it up and come back in a month!!” I was very happy!  Oh yeah, I could lift a coffee cup and I could drive, but I didn’t feel ready, so only drove a couple of times. Now, I only had to wear the sling when I went out, but at home, I was free!

The next month went by and there I was, back to see Dr. Coleman.  I got an A++, but I had more freedom, and no sling! Also, I could lift things that weren’t crazy heavy. Basically, I’m back to about normal and I’m excited.

The next month, May 24th, I go back for my last visit and release. He did the measurements and I passed with flying colors. Yes, I’m back to normal and since I did exactly what Dr. Coleman told me to do, I am free. I did it all without going to Physical Therapy; all I did was follow directions and not cheat. I’m not saying it was fun, but it’s over in 3 months and I’m ready to go again.

Dr. Coleman, you’re the BEST! Thank you so much for making my experience a good one!

Elizabeth Pendleton

Nancy Walls – Reverse Shoulder Replacement

I started with steroid injections, with a sports medicine doctor, and physical therapy exercises at home 16 years ago for my right shoulder pain.

In the fall of 2016, I made an appointment with Dr. Boyd Haynes, with whom I had worked at RRMC PACU and who had performed carpal tunnel and trigger finger surgery on me. My shoulder had gotten worse with decreased range of motion and pain limiting some of my activities. He stated that neither he nor I would be satisfied with him doing a rotator cuff repair, as I had a large tear. He referred me to Dr. Martin Coleman. I went to OSC PT at that time.

I returned to Dr. Coleman in Feb. 2017, when I was ready for surgery. He did a reverse shoulder replacement on February 28. I was home and out of the sling two days later.

Both Dr. Haynes and Dr. Coleman are friendly, professional and caring doctors. I highly recommend them.

Nancy Walls

Joseph Connors – Shoulder Surgery

Ten years ago, I had to have my left shoulder, biceps, and rotator cuff operated on and I went to Dr. Martin Coleman. Not knowing what to expect, he explained to me everything by telling me what was going to be done and how I needed to rehab after the surgery. Everything went as he said and my shoulder has never been better. At that time I lived in Newport News, VA and it was easy for me to see him.

Now, ten years later, I am living up in New Kent, VA, which is close to an hour away (from Newport News) and very close to Richmond. I needed to get my right shoulder operated on and I did not even hesitate to drive back down to Newport News and see Dr. Coleman. Again, he explained the entire procedure. I had my shoulder surgery in December of 2016.

It is now April 2017 and, after doing everything he told me to do, my shoulder is doing great. I can not thank him enough for the quality of life that he has given back to me. There are many Doctors in the area but if anyone asks me where to go, Orthopaedic & Spine Center and Dr. Coleman is where I would send them.

Joseph Connors